Mark Twain Fan-Cast Update: An Unlikely Choice

Rather than update the original article for my Mark Twain fan-cast (we needed a younger version of him for this series), with the hope that people will go back and re-visit it, I decided to just go ahead and create a new one. To view my analysis of the character, please click the original source.

When I did a photo search for the legendary author in preparation for that article, and scrolled down through a few pages, an unlikely picture popped up, for no apparent reason. The actor who came up was comedian Will Ferrell, who has appeared in numerous funny movies as well as rising to fame through his eleven years on Saturday Night Live. I will be honest, I was never really a fan of him (no dislike, I just don’t care for comedies and prefer the vintage episodes of SNL), but as I thought about it, I said to myself, “Could he play Mark Twain?”. Perhaps his picture popping up was a trick of fate, I do not know. In the picture comparison below, I hated to use a snapshot from Ron Burgundy, but it was the only one I could find with him sporting a moustache.

What we have here is not only a physical resemblance, but Twain was also a noted humorist—a very sarcastic man with a love for allegory. He was a man with a very sharp wit and sense of humor. Sound familiar? I do not know what the chances are for this production to land someone like Ferrell, or if he would agree to do a serious role, but it might be something that he himself would consider to add to his repertoire.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Mark Twain Fan-Cast Update: An Unlikely Choice

  1. Wes M. says:

    I originally thought this series was going to have Mark Twain in one of the final episodes portraying him in his older years after the war. So I thought Robert Easton would be perfect for the elderly Mark Twain. Robert Easton would be able to nail the accent perfectly since he is an expert on dialects. But if this series is going to have a Mark Twain character in his earlier years in one of the early episodes, then yeah I can see Will Ferrell in the role. I think he would be great.

  2. Will Ferrell would be awesome. Don’t know if I could pull that off. I could also see him as Stanton.
    MFB

  3. Tom Hercel ( from NJ.. home of the 1ST New Jersey Cavalry) says:

    At the risk of repeating a previous post ..Dennis Quaid would be my choice to play Mark Twain.

Leave a Reply

