Producer Michael Beckner’s Ghostly Encounter With a Civil War Soldier

Over on my other blog, I am running a special column this October called “Haunted History”, where I am trying to get filmmakers and historians from around the country to send me any paranormal encounters they may have had on a Civil War battlefield or other historic site. It just so happens that the screenwriter and one of the producers of To Appomattox, Michael Beckner, actually had two when he was traveling in Virginia on a research trip for the series, and one even involves a dead Civil War soldier. His experiences are below:

Lexington, Virginia

In 2005, my wife accompanied me on a research trip for To Appomattox.  We came into Lexington late one night (about 10pm) without reservations.  No hotels available.  We called all the Bed and Breakfasts…nothing in town.  We found one way up on the Lee Highway.  They had been under construction and weren’t reopening for another week, but I explained our predicament and they said they would give us a room for the night. We drove from town up that highway.  My wife and I have been on windy, dark roads all over the world many times.  Something about this one spooked her.  Before we were even to this place, she said she refused to get out of the car, that something “bad” awaited us.  I gently told her it was late, there was nowhere else, we were tired, the couple who owned the place were elderly and were opening their home to us late at night…and were waiting.

We arrived up the long dirt driveway (it still needed to be re-paved) and she refused to get out of the car.  We argued for a moment. The couple was waiting on the porch and my wife wouldn’t budge.  Embarrassed, I got out of the car, walked to the porch and lied that on the way my wife and begun throwing up and might have a stomach flu and we didn’t want to bring germs into their home.  They didn’t really believe me, but that was that. Got back in the car.  My wife said, “Get out of here as fast as you can.  This is a bad place.”  (By the way, that was a sweet, old couple and I still feel bad about lying; Anne wasn’t talking about them–just to be straight.)

The rental car was an Infiniti and had a rear-viewing camera with a monitor in the dash.  A little more common now, but back then that was the first I’d driven with one of those and I was into the technology of it all.  So I put the car in reverse and didn’t look over my shoulder, opting to use the cool camera/monitor.  Anne did look over her shoulder though. Suddenly, I saw a figure (in the monitor) loom up directly behind me.  It was a bearded man in Civil War officer’s uniform and slouch hat. Reenactor, I thought at the second it happened. Anne, looking back through rear window glass, shouted, “Stop! You’ll hit him!” I was already slamming my brake. I hit him.  I must have.  Yet he remained as though embedded in the bumper—I was still looking at the display, Anne still over her shoulder, then he “became” exhaust and dissolved. It was exhaust.  I distinctly remember knowing, somehow, in the moment I saw him that he wasn’t “solid.” The exhaust dissipated in wisps.

Anne asked, “Did you see him? Was it someone?”

I answered, “Where was his hand?”

She said, “Holding the top of his sword.”

He had been—his hand resting on the guard of his sword in his scabbard.  When I asked Anne to describe him she gave me the same details: beard, long Civil War coat with two rows of buttons, and a “cowboy” hat. A few years later, I remembered the event and went online to see if anyone else had seen him.  There are LOTS of reports of a Confederate officer/spirit who harasses cars along that road.

To read the rest of the article as well as the second story, click here.

This entry was posted in General. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Producer Michael Beckner’s Ghostly Encounter With a Civil War Soldier

  1. Spooky is the right word for it. To see a full-body apparition is downright scary to say the least.

  2. tom hercel says:

    I really don’t believe in ghosts – normally I need proof of most things before accepting.
    However, while on a Ghosts of Gettysburg tour a few years back while our group was in a field near the house used by Robert E. Lee as headquaters, a member of the tour took a photo of some group members – as he checked the display of his digital camera we absolutely saw a figure that to me looked like what I would describe as a middle aged woman wearing garb that a slave may wear- she was behind the tour group and I know no one else was there – till this day I tell this to whoever will listen ( never saw a print of this either)

Leave a Reply

